Putnam County League All-League Selections for Boys' Basketball in 1951

FIRST TEAM		SECO	SECOND TEAM	
Players	Schools	Players	Schools	
Dwight Etter	Continental	John Begg	Columbus Grove	
Paul Fenstermaker	Leipsic	Jim McBride	Columbus Grove	
Roy Meyer	Miller City	Junior McDonald	Miller City	
Tom Weber	Ottoville	John Schimmoeller	Ottawa Public	
Dick Kortokrax	Ottoville	Richard Rice	Pandora	
Player of the Year	Tom Weber	Ottoville		

HONORABLE MENTION				
Players	Schools	Players	Schools	
Charles Peckinpaugh	Blanchard	James Niese	Ottawa SPPS	
Caroll Roberts	Columbus Grove	Duane Young	Vaughnsville	
Dale Noll	Glandorf	Ray Stemen	Vaughnsville	
Eugene Wurth	Kalida	Marvin Griffith	Vaughnsville	
Bud Snyder	Leipsic			

History of Player Selection from 1951 to the Present

From 1925 to 1950, the All Putnam County League or Putnam County League Tournament Teams were selected in many different ways. In some years, someone from one of the many local newspapers such as the Putnam County Sentinel, the Leipsic Free Press or the Continental News-Review would select teams. In some years the coaches would select a team. In 1951, a format similar to the one used today was started. There are several teams during this period that are missing. From 1958 to the present, the varsity coach of each PCL school selects the players and coaches for a 1st Team, a 2nd Team, a Player of the Year and a Coach of the Year.