Kalida Wins 2024 PCL Golf Tournament

Viking' Brandt is Player of the Year

Putnam County Sentinel - Charlie Warnimont - Monday, September 23, 2024

DELPHOS – Kalida had to adjust their game plan going into Monday's Putnam County League golf championship at the Delphos Country Club.

After an inch of rain fell late Sunday on the course, Wildcat head coach Kevin Stechschulte altered his teams game plan that they had set during a practice round on Sunday.

His players responded to the change in plans as they went out and blistered the Delphos course shooting a 300-team score to win the PCL tournament. Miller City was a distant second with a 335 and Leipsic finished third with a 341. Ottoville grabbed the fourth spot with a 349, Columbus Grove was fifth with a 357, Fort Jennings was sixth with a 377 and Pandora-Gilboa was seventh with a 413.

The Wildcats won the overall PCL championship finishing 12-0, between the regular season and tournament finish, as Leipsic and Miller City tied for second place with a 9-3 record. Ottoville finished at 5-7, Columbus Grove at 4-8, Fort Jennings at 3-9 and Pandora-Gilboa at 0-12.

Leipsic junior Brevin Brandt was named the PCL Player of the Year for a second straight year.

During a practice round Sunday, Kalida found the course to be firm and fast, despite having their round delayed a couple of times by weather. But when they returned Monday, the coach altered their game plan based on the events of what happened overnight.

"Yesterday it was firm and fast out here," coach Stechschulte said. "Today we just had to change a few ideas to go after the course. The kids did a great job; they adjusted well."

Senior Connor Nartler led Kalida Monday shooting a three under par round of 68 (33-35) for medalist honors. Paul Stechschulte (36-40) and Adam Bockrath (37-39) both finished with a 76 and Jack Stechschulte finished with an 80 (36-44).

Stechschulte was pleased with how his players tackled Monday's tournament.

"This was a very good day for us. Hopefully we are peaking at the right time," Stechschulte said. "The kids played great today. I'm happy for the seniors, a nice way for them to go out as champions."

"The young kids are playing well. They are coming together. The best part is that they

all get along. We knew last year was a little bit of a rebuilding year for us. This year we are having a nice year. It's been like a twoyear build and it will be interesting to see what we do the next couple of weeks."

Nartker garnered first team PCL honors for his play this season, while Paul Stechschulte and Jack Stechschulte both were named to the second team

Kevin Stechschulte was named the PCL Coach of the Year.

Brandt had the second-best score Monday as he shot a 75 (36-39). Brandt had to work hard on the back nine as he double bogeyed a hole before finishing strong on his remaining holes that included an eagle on 17 and a par on the 18th hole.

"To repeat in this league is tough to do with Connor and all the good players including Evan Altenburger, and to also win the BVC Player of the Year. That's a lot of stress for a young dude, but he came through when it mattered the most, as well as teammates Nick Schroeder and Reagan Wenzinger," coach Kevin Brandt said. "The BVC was good with a lot of good players. There were a lot of good players at this tournament also. It was a fun year."

"Off the tee, I was solid, but my irons let me down, Brevin stated. I didn't help them well. I stayed with it, had a lot of good ups and downs. I had a big chip in on 17 to help secure it. That was my big shot of the day."

Leipsic finished third in the tournament as Reagan Wenzinger shot an 84, Nick Schroeder an 86 and Jake Eding a 96. Schroeder was named second team PCL.

Miller City finished second Monday as they were led by Gavin Vennekotter with an 81. Andrew Weis was next with an 82, Jude Otto an 84 and Jesse Lammers an 88.

Weis was named to the PCL first team for Miller City and Vennekotter was named to the second team.

Ottoville's Evan Altenburger and Blake Kortokrax were named to the first team along with Columbus Grove's Gage Sautter. Fort Jennings' Dylan Tumlinson was named to the PCL second team.

Tournament Team Scores

*1 Kalida 300 – Connor Nartker 68, Paul Stechschulte 76, Adam Bockrath 76, Jack Stechschulte 80, Carson Buss 83 and Chris Rall 87

*2 Miller City 335 – Gavin Vennekotter 81, Andrew Weis 82, Jude Otto 84, Jesse Lammers 88, Jack Wenzinger 89 and Will Otto 90.

*3 Leipsic 341 – Brevin Brandt 75, Reagan Wenzinger 84, Nick Schroeder 86, Jake Eding 96, Andrew Hittle 99 and Lyrric Knisley 102.

*4 Ottoville 349 – Evan Altenburger 76, Blake Kortokrax 79, Cole Knippen 96, Zach Hohbein 98, J. J. Hoersten 103 and Logan Rittenhouse 109.

*5 Columbus Grove 357 – Gage Sautter 78 Dalton Hyman 91, Mitchell Schroeder 93, Michael King 96 and Isaac Barto 108.

*6 Fort Jennings 377 – Dylan Tumlinson 86, Ryan Aldrich 93, Braden Knippen 94, Adam Hoersten 104, Garrett Hark 110 and Kamryn Browning 111.

*7 Pandora-Gilboa 413 – Derrick Teders 100, Camden Verhoff 101, Chase Detrow 104 Ada Buell 108, Jack Buell 114 and Paxton Verhoff 132.

First Team

Brevin Brandt, Leipsic. Connor Nartker, Kalida. Evan Altenburger, Ottoville. Blake Kortokrax, Ottoville. Gage Sautter, Columbus Grove. Andrew Weis, Miller City.

Second Team

Adam Bockrath, Kalida. Paul Stechschulte, Kalida. Jack Stechschulte, Kalida. Gavin Vennekotter, Miller City. Nick Schroeder, Leipsic. Dylan Tumlinson, Fort Jennings.

<u>Honorable Mention</u>

Columbus Grove – Dalton Hyman and Clark King. Fort Jennings – Ryan Aldrich and Adam Hoersten. Kalida – Carson Buss and Chris Rall. Leipsic – Reagan Wenzinger and Andrew Hittle. Miller City – Will Otto and Jesse Lammers. Ottoville – Zach Hohlbein and Logan Rittenhouse. Pandora-Gilboa – Derrick Teders and Camden Verhoff.

Scholar Athletes

Fort Jennings – Garrett Hark, Braden Knippen, Adam Hoersten and Ian Stechschulte. Kalida – Connor Nartker. Leipsic – Jake Eding, Nick Schroeder and Lyrric Knisley. Miller City – Will Otto and Jude Otto. Ottoville – Cole Knippen, Jeremy Hoersten and Logan Rittenhouse. Pandora-Gilboa – Derick Teders and Chase Dettrow.