History of Junior High Boy's Basketball in Putnam County 1936 - 2023

Organized, Junior High basketball has been played in Putnam County since at least 1936. From 1936 to 1965, boys from the 7th, 8th and 9th grades were combined to play on one team. In 1966, the Ohio High School Athletic Association, legislated that the 9th graders would be combined with high school students, or grades 10-12. The 7th and 8th graders would be treated separately. As a result, from 1966 to today, the 9th Grade PCLT includes only 9th graders and schools from Putnam County. The tournament site is alphabetically rotated each year.

In the late 1950's through the mid 1970's, schools in Putnam County started to have individual 7th & 8th grade teams playing interscholastically. However, the season ending tournaments at this level were combination teams from all three grades until 1966. The Junior High tournaments in Putnam County from 1936 - 1940 were invitational tournaments. Delphos St. Johns won the first invitational in 1936. There is no evidence of a tournament in 1941 probably because of World War II. Beginning in 1942, the Junior High tournaments included only Putnam County teams. In 1960, Pandora hosted a tournament in which 7th and 8th graders were put on one team. Miller City won that tournament. From that point on, there were a few invitational tournaments for the 7th and 8th graders run by various organizations such as the Knights of Columbus, CYO and Ottawa SPPS.

Fort Jenning's High School started a Junior High tournament in 1975 in which only 8th graders would play. In 1988, the Putnam County League formed two tournaments, one for 7th graders and one for 8th graders, in which any Putnam County school could enter. This format is still used today and the tournament is randomly rotated between the PCL schools.

Team of 7th, 8th & 9th Graders PCT & PCLT Winners

Year	School	Year	School
1936	Delphos St. Johns	1951	Columbus Grove
1937	Middle Point	1952	Columbus Grove
1938	Unknown	1953	Kalida
1939	Delphos Jefferson	1954	Miller City
1940	Columbus Grove	1955	Glandorf
1941	Unknown	1956	Columbus Grove
1942	Leipsic	1957	Leipsic
1943	Pandora	1958	Fort Jennings
1944	Miller City	1959	Columbus Grove
1945	Miller City	1960	Columbus Grove
1946	Blanchard	1961	Continental
1947	Columbus Grove	1962	Ottoville
1948	Ottawa SPPS	1963	Ottoville
1949	Columbus Grove	1964	Miller City
1950	Columbus Grove	1965	Ottawa-Glandorf

In 2008 there was no 9th Grade PCL Tournament since league policy dictates that there must be a minimum of four participating teams. This was the first time since 1936 that there was no tournament, a streak of 72 consecutive years.

Willies over the last of lears						
1	Leipsic	8				
12	Middle Point	1				
7	Miller City	10				
1	Ottawa-Glandorf	1				
1	Ottawa SPPS	1				
8	Ottoville	13				
1	Pandora	1				
12	Pandora-Gilboa	1				
	1 12 7 1 1 8	1 Leipsic 12 Middle Point 7 Miller City 1 Ottawa-Glandorf 1 Ottawa SPPS 8 Ottoville 1 Pandora				

Team of only 9th Graders PCLT Winners

	I .	
Year	School	Yea
1966	Ottoville	199
1967	Continental	199
1968	Continental	200
1969	Columbus Grove	200
1970	Ottoville	200
1971	Continental	200
1972	Leipsic	200
1973	Kalida	200
1974	Ottoville	200
1975	Ottoville	200
1976	Ottoville	200
1977	Kalida	200
1978	Fort Jennings	201
1979	Fort Jennings	201
1980	Ottoville	201
1981	Ottoville	201
1982	Ottoville	201
1983	Continental	201
1984	Fort Jennings	201
1985	Leipsic	201
1986	Continental	201
1987	Kalida	201
1988	Kalida	202
1989	Miller City	202
1990	Ottoville	202
1991	Miller City	202
1992	Continental	
1993	Columbus Grove	
1994	Fort Jennings	
1995	Kalida	
1996	Leipsic	

Fort Jennings

1997

mers				
Year	School			
1998	Fort Jennings			
1999	Miller City			
2000	Miller City			
2001	Leipsic			
2002	Kalida			
2003	Kalida			
2004	Fort Jennings			
2005	Pandora-Gilboa			
2006	Leipsic			
2007	Miller City			
2008	NO TOURNAMENT			
2009	Kalida			
2010	NO TOURNAMENT			
2011	Miller City			
2012	NO TOURNAMENT			
2013	Kalida			
2014	Leipsic			
2015	NO TOURNAMENT			
2016	Kalida			
2017	Columbus Grove			
2018	Ottoville			
2019	NO TOURNAMENT			
2020	NO TOURNAMENT			
2021	NO TOURNAMENT			
2022	Ottoville			
2023	Kalida			