Ottoville Wins 2023 PCL Golf Championship Viking' Brandt is Player of the Year

Putnam County Sentinel - Charlie Warnimont - Monday, September 25, 2023

OTTAWA – Ottoville went into Monday's Putnam County League golf tournament with the regular season championship in hand. However, the Big Green were not just satisfied with the regular season title. They wanted a tournament championship as well. And that's just what the Big Green achieved.

With three players shooting in the 70's, the Big Green ran away from the field to win the PCL Tournament and overall championship at the Moose Landing Country Club.

Ottoville shot a 316 to win the PCL Tournament as Miller City was second with a 341, Kalida was third at 342, Columbus Grove fourth with a 362, Pandora-Gilboa was fifth with a 365, Leipsic had a 377 for sixth and Fort Jennings was seventh with a 390.

Ottoville head coach Keith Utendorf was pleased with how his team played on an overcast day at Moose Landing.

"Overall, we had a really good day," Utendorf said. "All of them were under 90 and some of them probably didn't play as well as they wanted to. I'm really proud of the entire groups effort to be able to scratch together good rounds and make sure we finished off the PCL schedule the way we wanted to at the beginning of the year."

Keaton Schnipke led the Big Green with a 75 (36-39) for the second best round of the day. Evan Altenburger (39-39) and Blake Kortokrax (39-39) both had a 78 and Michae Turnwald had an 85 (45-40).

Utendorf praised Kortokrax, the teams fifth golfer, for coming up big for the team Monday. "Blake was so big today, coming with a huge round, with a 78," Utendorf said. "Keaton was steady at the top, Evan Altenburger played really, really well, like he has all year. Our other two seniors, Jace Langhals and Michael Turnwald put up competitive scores for us along with Aiden Hilvers who had a 94. I'm really proud of the entire group's effort."

Altenburger was named to the PCL first team for his play this season, while Schnipke and Turnwald were named to the second team. Langhals and Kortokrax were named to the Honorable Mention list. Kalida junior Connor Nartker was the tournament medalist with an even par round of 72 (36-36). Nartker was named to the PCL first team for his play this season.

Leipsic sophomore Brevin Brandt was named the PCL Player of the year after shooting a 77 Monday, which was the third best score. Based on his tournament standing and regular season play Brandt earned Player of the Year honors by a half point for the 2023 season.

"Today was a rough day, but I knew if I could grind it out and put a great score for my teammates we would have a chance," Brevin said. "It was a rough day out there. I was just glad I could pull it out. I played really well this year. There are a lot of great players out here. I played well when it mattered." Sitting at five over after 10 holes, Brandt parred the final eight holes to shoot a 77.

"He grinded today. Today was tough day," Leipsic coach Kevin Brandt said. "He didn't shoot his best score, but he was able to keep big numbers off his card. I knew where he stood coming in and knew had to finish third or better to be the PCL Player of the Year and he did that. Throughout the year he played well. There are so many great players in the league, Connor Nartker and the lineup Ottoville has. He lost the NWC Player of the Year by a half point and wins this one by a half point, so there is some time to celebrate after a tough week last week. It's just such an honor with this conference being as good as it is."

Honorable Mention

Dalton Hyman and Ryan Hardeman (CG), Braden Hart and Ryan Aldrich (FJ), Tucker Anspach and Carson Buss (Kalida), Andrew Hittle and Diego Lomeli (Leipsic), Jesse Lammers and Brayden Niese, (MC), Jace Langhals and Blake Kortokrax, Ottoville and Zach Neuenschwander and Anna Parkins (PG).

Scholar Athletes

Ryan Hardeman (CG), Carson Remlinger and Austin Schnipke (Kalida), Jon Wank and Chelsea Erford (MC), Jace Langhals, Keaton Schnipke, Alivia Hilvers, Lexie Honigford, Isabelle Furley and Addison Geise (Ottoville) and Owen Huffman, Aiden Harris, Zach Neuenschwander and Anna Parkins (PG)

First Team

Brevin Brandt (Leipsic), Connor Nartker and Jack Stechschulte (Kalida), Evan Altenburger (Ottoville), Aiden Harris (PG) and Andrew Weis (MC).

Second Team

Keaton Schnipke and Michael Turnwald (Ottoville), Owen Huffman (PG), Will Otto and Gavin Vennekotter (MC), Nick Schroeder (Leipsic) and Gage Sautter (CG).

> Medalist Connor Nartker

Player of the Year Brevin Brandt

Coach of the Year Keith Utendorf

Team Standings

Ottoville (316) Keaton Schnipke 75. Evan Altenburger 78. Blake Kortokrax 78. Michael Turnwald 85. Jace Langhals 87. Aiden Hilvers 94.

Miller City (341) Will Otto 83. Gavin Vennekotter 84. Andrew Weis 87. Brayden Niese 87. Jude Otto 91. Jesse Lammers 93.

Kalida (342) Connor Nartker 72. Jack Stechschulte 82. Adam Bockrath 93. Carson Buss 95. Tucker Anspach 104. Austin Schnipke 104.

Columbus Grove (362) Ryan Hardeman 89. Dalton Hyman 89. Gage Sautter 91. Evan Sautter 93. Brody Roof 115.

Pandora-Gilboa (365) Owen Huffman 83. Aiden Harris 84. Zach Neuenschwander 94. Derrick Teders 104. Camden Verhoff 114. Chase Dettrow 130.

Leipsic (377) Brevin Brandt 77. Nick Schroeder 90. Diego Lomeli 104. Andrew Hittle 106. Zac Lammers 111. Leo Carillo 122.

Fort Jennings (390) Ryan Aldrich 94. Adam Hoersten 97. Braden Knippen 99. Brayden Hart 100. Dylan Tumlinson 110. Braeden Grothause 118

Overall Standings	
Ottoville	12-0
Miller City	9-3
Kalida	9-3
Leipsic	4-8
Columbus Grove	4-8
Fort Jennings	2-10
Pandora-Gilboa	2-10