Kalida Captures 2022 PCL Tournament Kalida's Connor Nartker Named Player of the Year

The Lima News and Sentinel – Charlie Warnimont – Monday, September 26, 2022

OTTAWA – Monday was a challenging day for golfers at the Putnam County League Tournament.

A thunderstorm not only halted play, but off and on showers along with wind, gave those competing some extra challenges to think about during their round. Players that were able to put aside the elements and play their game gave their team a chance at a good finish.

First year Kalida head coach Kevin Stechschulte said he told his players after the lightning delay to be believe in themselves as every shot would make a difference.

"The conditions were brutal," Stechschulte said. "It was howling all day, we had rain and a lightning delay. I told our kids that the toughest team (mentally) is going to win and we beat a good team today by one shot. Both teams deserve credit."

"The live scoring makes things interesting as everyone knows where everyone stands. I explained to them how important every shot was, just believe in yourself and do the best you can. That's all you can tell them as a coach."

Kalida finished with a 332 and Ottoville was second with a 333. Leipsic was third with a score of 349, followed by Miller City (363), Pandora-Gilboa (388), Columbus Grove (390) and Fort Jennings (402).

Kalida finished with an overall final team record of 11-1. Ottoville was 10-2, Miller City 8-4, Leipsic 7-5, Pandora-Gilboa 4-8, Columbus Grove 2-10 and Fort Jennings 0-12.

Leipsic's Brevin Brandt was the tournament medalist with a score of 77. Kalida's Connor Nartker was runner-up with a 78.

Connor Nartker finished second individually at the PCL Tournament as he was named the PCL Player of the Year based on points earned in regular season matches and the tournament.

"It's a mental game, not getting to down on yourself when things aren't going well," Nartker said. "The rain was tough to play in but it's all about staying warm. You just have to try and keep your hands warm and wear a lot of layers."

Leipsic's Brevin Brandt, a freshman, was the PCL Tournament medalist after shooting a 77. It was the second time in a week that Brandt was a tournament medalist as he earned that honor at the Northwest Conference Tournament.

"I hit the ball pretty well today and my putting on the front nine was extremely good," Brandt said. "After the rain, it was colder and the ball wasn't rolling out as much. As a result, the course was playing a little longer."

Kalida's Kevin Stechschulte, Leipsic's Kevin Brandt and Miller City's Todd Pester shared Coach of the Year honors.

The first team consisted of Connor Nartker (Kalida), Brevin Brandt (Leipsic), Keaton Schnipke (Ottoville), Michael Turnwald (Ottoville) Grant Leis (Ottoville) and Ethan Warnecke (Kalida).

The second team consisted of Andrew Weis (Miller City), Thomas Weis (Miller City), Kayla Nartker (Kalida), Jace Langhals (Ottoville), Will Otto (Miller City) and Luke Spoors (Leipsic).

Honorable Mention accolades went to Isaac Ricker and Taylor Schroeder (Columbus Grove), Ryan Aldrich and Adam Hoersten (Fort Jennings), Drew Buss and Carson Klausing (Kalida), Adam Lammers and Nick Schroeder (Leipsic), Jesse Lammers and Brayden Niese (Miller City), Blake Kortokrax and Brayden Geise (Ottoville) and Owen Huffman and Aiden Harris (Pandora-Gilboa).

The Scholar Athletes were Taylor Schroeder and Isaac Ricker (Columbus Grove), Andrew Aldrich (Fort Jennings), Kayla Nartker (Kalida), Luke Spoors and Adam Lammers (Leipsic), Kianna Gable (Miller City) and Elam Suter (Pandora-Gilboa).

Team Standings

Kalida (332) Connor Nartker, 78. Kayla Nartker, 80. Ethan Warnecke, 85. Jack Stechschulte, 89. Drew Buss, 89. Carson Klausing, 89. Ottoville (333) Michael Turnwald, 80. Grant Leis, 84. Jace Langhals, 84. Keaton Schnipke, 85. Blake Kortokrax, 102. Brayden Geise, 114.

Leipsic (349) Brevin Brandt, 77. Luke Spoors, 88. Adam Lammers, 92. Diego Lomeli, 92. Blane Schroeder, 95. Nick Schroeder, 98.

Miller City (363) Thomas Weis, 87. Andrew Weis, 88. Will Otto, 92. Brayden Niese, 96. Jude Otto, 102. Jesse Lammers, 104.

Pandora-Gilboa (388) Zach Neuenschwander (94). Owen Huffman, 95. Aiden Harris (96). Elan Suter, 103. Anna Parkins, 103. Derrick Teders, 108.

Columbus Grove (390) Taylor Schroeder (90), Isaac Ricker (95), Maddox Halker (99), Brody Roof, 106. Brock Hoffman, 107. Ethan Williams, 112.

Fort Jennings (402) Braden Knippen, 96. Ryan Aldrich, 99. Dylan Tumlinson, 102. Adam Hoersten, 105. Brayden Hart, 108. Andrew Aldrich, 123.

> <u>Medalist</u> Brevin Brandt

Player of the Year Connor Nartker

<u>Coaches of the Year</u> Kevin Stechschulte Kevin Brandt Todd Pester

PCL First Team

Connor Nartker and Ethan Warnecke, Kalida. Brevin Brandt, Leipsic. Keaton Schnipke, Michael Turnwald and Grant Leis, Ottoville.

PCL Second Team

Andrew Weis and Thomas Weis, Miller City. Kayla Nartker, Kalida. Jace Langhals, Ottoville. Luke Spoors, Leipsic.